Viking Engines

Other VW (Revmaster, Great Plains, Hummel), Corvair, Viking, etc. ****THESE ENGINES ARE NOT FACTORY APPROVED.****

Viking Engines

Postby SNX1454 » Sat May 03, 2014 5:05 pm

Why is the viking engine thread locked? What happened? SNX1454
SNX1454

Re: Viking Engines

Postby MichaelFarley56 » Sat May 03, 2014 5:39 pm

There were no useful discussions on the engine; only continued people bashing.

If this thread is to continue, please keep things focused on the engine and/or any new developments relating to the engine.

Thank you!
Mike Farley
Waiex #0056 - N569KM
Jabiru 3300A #1706
MGL Panel
MichaelFarley56

Postby SNX1454 » Sat May 03, 2014 9:49 pm

I will start this with a disclosure, which needs to be considered in my Viking experience. I am a professional mechanical engineer with a fairly well equipped machine shop. I am able to fabricate things a typical homebuilder may not.

I received my Sonex kit 12-2010. Ordered a Viking a couple weeks later for April delivery.

The airplane was ready for the engine in April but the engine never showed. It would be 2 years, (April 2013), before the last piece of the engine was delivered. Viking has never quibbled about keeping a deal (except for delivery dates) about details, shipping costs or anything else.

There are no DARs in this state (Hawaii) and it took the FAA 8 months to get me an airworthiness certificate (government shut down and all). I got the airplane to the airport early Feb 2014.

Very little of my engine installation is as suggested by Viking but none these variations have been a problem. The engine is longer than the Jabiru so the CG is forward. I put 10 Lb. of lead in the tail.