Crank Shaft Faiure

Discussion of the Aerovee kit engine.

Crank Shaft Faiure

Postby Aldo » Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:56 pm

Been reading a thread on the EAA forum about AeroVee reliability. Several of the contributors imply crank shaft failure is possible, but if you have retro fitted the "beefed up" crank shaft failure is less likely. My Sonex has Aerovee 2.1 engine #0310 with 150 hours on it. As I am still learning about this engine, I would appreciate any comments and info you all have.

Thanks again!
Aldo / Sonex #0954
TriGear/ Aerovee
Southport, NC
Aldo

Re: Crank Shaft Faiure

Postby SonexN76ET » Thu Feb 05, 2015 9:53 pm

Aldo, a crankshaft failure has never been an issue with Aerovee 2.1's.

On earlier model engines there were maybe one or two that the NTSB found clearly linked to builder error. Unfortunately these two or three incidents have been reposted over and over again on the web making it look like a major issue when it is not.

Also some other engine builders have tried to make this an issue to try to sell their in house engineered cranks. But research shows these other firms have had their share if crankshaft and prop hub failures.

It should also be noted that Lycoming and Continental have had their share of crank issues too.

You have the same crank the turbo guys have that are pushing 110 HP. You have nothing to worry about as long as you maintain your engine.

There are plenty of uninformed opinions out there on other forums.

Thanks,

Jake
Sonex Tri Gear, Rotax 912 ULS, Sensenich 3 Blade Ground Adjustable Propeller
MGL Velocity EMS, Garmin GTR 200 Comm, GTX 335 ADS B Out Transponder
ILevil AW AHRS & ADS-B In, UAvionix AV20S
200+ hours previously with Aerovee engine
Sarasota, Florida
SonexN76ET

Postby radfordc » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:10 am

I Can tell you how to have a prop hub failure. Have two prop strikes and continue to fly for another 100 hours.
radfordc

Postby Mike53 » Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:14 pm