Third owner, first time owner

An area for non-builder owners to discuss issues that they may not be familiar with to increase safety in the second hand Sonex line market. Post things to watch out for and anything safety related for secondary owners here.

Third owner, first time owner

Postby mrpilotron » Wed Sep 14, 2022 1:12 pm

I am buying a scratch-built legacy Sonex that was finished in 2014, sold to owner 2 earlier this year, then resold again. I'm not new to flying light airplanes, but new to the Sonex line. I logged some EAA chapter build time working on a Zenith, I'm a member of an RV-12 flying club, and have been involved in the maintenance and upkeep for several airplanes in the past. I cannot claim to be an experienced builder, but I am also not a total newb. I have lurked here for several months and spent more time than I'd care to admit reading back through this and other forums for several months to make sure I know what I'm getting into.

The plane I'm buying is definitely not a pristine show plane and the amateur nature of the build shows in several non-critical areas. Attention to detail and obsession about making parts look like factory CNC production was not the builder's goal. The pre-buy inspection revealed several areas that require attention before I'll be comfortable taking it for more than a test-flight around the pattern. This is not to say it's a bad build, but just being realistic about what it is. Perhaps more important is to be realistic about what it is NOT. The aircraft is airworthy and structurally sound. Edge distances for rivets are correct, the spar is properly constructed, and the AeroVee 80hp engine runs great. The 54/44 Sensenich prop looks brand new.

My concerns and plans to fix them are: