Does the Xenos Soar Well, Two-Up?

Discussion for builders, pilots, owners, and those interested in building or owning a second generation Xenos.

Does the Xenos Soar Well, Two-Up?

Postby HappyWarrior » Sat Jul 15, 2017 1:22 pm

250+ hour glider pilot here. My first post - hello!

Also have a PPL and it's time to build something. I can't give up the soaring bug, so feel the Xenos is a good fit.

Is it a true soaring machine, in the right conditions, with two on board? I see 24:1 noted, which is certainly comparable to some of the older Schweizers out there.

I'd love a machine I can do some small XC trips on, but also load my father into and have some real soaring fun.
HappyWarrior

Re: Does the Xenos Soar Well, Two-Up?

Postby XenosPilot » Sun Jul 16, 2017 12:48 am

Good question. That's exactly what I use mine for. I am a glider pilot only, so I can't say much in comparison to other airplanes, but I LOVE my Xenos. I mostly treat it like a sailplane, only running the engine to launch, then go soaring. A month ago, I took my daughter with me and flew to a fly-in breakfast about 30 miles away. I once flew it around 100 miles to another soaring site, treating it simply as an airplane. I don't know if it is "really" a 24:1 glide ratio, and I was not able to nail that down when doing the flight testing. Other than the Xenos, I have flown mostly Schweizer gliders (1-26 & 2-33), and it is certainly comparable to them. It doesn't thermal as well as they do, due to the higher sink rate and higher speed for min sink. That being said, I think it outperforms them on straight glides due to the higher speed. All in all, I think it is a fair compromise, and someone who is okay with 1-26 performance will probably like the Xenos. I really like the fact that I have a self-launching glider as well as a light airplane. It cruises at around 105 mph indicated, burning around 4 gph of fuel...not bad.
Stephen Layton
Xenos, Aerovee, Aeroinjector, 100LL, MGL Enigma panel