Prop bolts install

Rotax 912 series discussion.

Prop bolts install

Postby Murray Parr » Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:18 pm

Does anyone know how to correctly secure the prop bolts. There doesn't seem to be a way to safety wire the bolts to the Sonex spinner and the bolt grip bottoms out on the threaded Rotax bushings if you use a bolt long enough to protrude the bushing to install a locking type nut on the back of the propeller hub.
I could use fully threaded bolts and a lock nut on the back of the hub but I am not sure if the fully threaded bolts are as strong as a bolt with an unthreaded grip/shank.

Another method I am thinking of is to use Nord lock washers but I am not sure if they would be a positive lock for the bolt

Any suggestion are much appreciated
Murray Parr
WXB0015
Rotax 912ULS
MGL Explorer Lite
First flight May 6/23
RV9 builder (Sold)
Murray Parr

Re: Prop bolts install

Postby GordonTurner » Thu Sep 12, 2019 6:23 pm

I am no expert on this, but i am quite sure you should not use fully threaded bolts for this. Get good advice from a reliable source. Sonex or your Rotax dealer preferred.
Waiex 158 New York. N88YX registered.
3.0 Liter Corvair built, run, and installed.
Garmin panel, Shorai LiFePo batteries.
GordonTurner

Postby Murray Parr » Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:10 am

Thanks Gordon,

Rotax doesn't seem to be very helpful, they seem to just refer you to their installation manual that is vague on this and Sonex has said fully threaded bolts are unsuitable and they haven't come back with a solution other that using Nyloc nuts to lock the bolts but as mentioned above, that won't work with the Rotax bushings being too long for the threads to protrude. I am hoping someone has successfully installed a prop with a Sonex spinner before and can share their methods. I am using the Sensenich prop sold by Sonex so it would be good if they came up with a suitable install method for it.
Murray Parr
WXB0015
Rotax 912ULS
MGL Explorer Lite
First flight May 6/23