Solenoid squeaking noise

Discussion of aircraft electrical system design, construction, and problems.

Solenoid squeaking noise

Postby rizzz » Mon May 12, 2014 11:32 pm

I finished my wiring recently and last night I installed the battery and fired it up for the first time.
Everything works. That’s very exciting!

I have a concern about my master solenoid though, When I switch it off it makes a squeaking noise. Is this supposed to be like this?
I have this solenoid from Spruce: http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/e ... rrelay.php
I have also installed a flyback diode to prevent voltage spikes.
Michael
Sonex #145 from scratch (mostly)
Taildragger, 2.4L VW engine, AeroInjector, Prince 54x48 P-Tip
VH-MND, CofA issued 2nd of November 2015
First flight 7th of November 2015
Phase I Completed, 11th of February 2016
http://www.mykitlog.com/rizzz/
rizzz

Re: Solenoid squeaking noise

Postby rizzz » Tue May 13, 2014 10:26 am

I had another look tonight and it seems the noise is actually coming from the capacitor, not the solenoid. I do believe it is normal for a capacitor to make noise when discharging, not sure if it is supposed to discharge like that at all, but I thought it was more like a popping noise as anyway. Anybody with more knowledge than I have want to comment on the subject?
Michael
rizzz

Postby sonex1649 » Tue May 13, 2014 10:41 am

Capacitors should not pop when discharging check and màke sure all your connections are tight and check the cap for a short
sonex1649

Postby tonyr » Tue May 13, 2014 7:00 pm

Hey Michael,

The only time I ever heard a capacitor make a noise was real late at night when I soldered one into a TV with reversed polarity.. f@**&in BANG!
I was pretty tired but that woke me up good!