Wire

Discussion of aircraft electrical system design, construction, and problems.

Wire

Postby pfhoeycfi » Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:21 am

I have my electrical diagram 98% complete with wire sizes etc. I'll have the turbo aerovee with MGL EFIS & Radio...still undecided on transponder & ADSB. My wings are already wired for Orions and a single duckwork landing light.

I'm ready to purchase wire and I'm curious about wire color, single vs multi conductor and marking.

Is there any advantage to using different colors or just sticking with, say, just 2.

...running individual conductors vs multi conductor wire?

What is the best (easiest) type of wire marking system?

My background is automatic temp control systems...we pull miles of 18 - 22 but we keep it extremely simple. That is what I'm inclined to do. But I'd like to know what has worked or not worked for Sonex wiring.

Peter
Peter Hoey
SEL Pvt, Comm Glider, CFIG, Pawnee & L19 Towpilot
Philadelphia Glider Council
Sonex B SNB0021, N561PH, Taildragger, Aerovee Turbo, MGL MX1, First flight Dec 18, 2022
Also built Sonerai IIL N86PH
pfhoeycfi

Re: Wire

Postby Rynoth » Fri Sep 04, 2020 3:18 pm

The only places I ran multi-conductor wire is for avionics components like headphone jacks, since they originate and terminate in the same locations (back of the radio.) For most every other connection, the positive is run from a bus/fuse block or contactor, and the negative is to a grounding block in a different location, so single-conductor wire made the most sense. I just used white TEFZEL wire, with proper labeling color doesn't matter.

I used 20AWG for light loads (avionics components, magneto grounds, relay control), 18AWG for medium loads (12V socket/USB charger, master contactor control), 12AWG for heavier loads (connecting busses, starter button), 10AWG for my alternator circuit and 6AWG for the starter circuit. I used fuses appropriate to the capacity of each wire size and haven't blown a fuse yet.