Emergency Instrument

Discussion of aircraft electrical system design, construction, and problems.

Emergency Instrument

Postby NWade » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:41 pm

Hi All,

I'm beginning to sketch out the instrumentation & wiring for my Turbo Aerovee-powered Sonex, and I wanted to get feedback from folks here. I've read the AEC and the BMA stuff and am trying to balance simplicity against reliability in line with most of their teachings... But most of my career has been spent in the digital world so analog circuitry is pretty new to me. I'd love to hear people's thoughts and suggestions on the situation I explain, below.

I'm aiming to equip my panel with an MGL Discovery Lite, MGL V6, and a Trig TT22. This seems to be a pretty straightforward (yet feature-rich) avionics setup. The only thing that this "single panel solution" lacks is a backup system. I'm a fairly experienced sailplane pilot, so during Day VFR flying I am sure I can eyeball altitude and speed to bring flights to a safe conclusion. But at night I'd be very concerned about judging those things in a darkened cabin if the primary electrical system craps out (either a failure of the Discovery, or a failure of the Batt/Alt system). I was looking at putting in 2.25" analog gauges for ASI & Alt, but its cheaper and less panel-space to just get an MGL Infinity ASX-1 (which provides a 2.25" instrument that gives digital readouts of ASI & Alt). However, the Infinity requires power. So I'm pondering how to best wire the ASX-1 into my aircraft. Here are what appear to be my 3 main options:

1. Its a miniscule amount of power so I could get a tiny 12v battery and just wire it up separately. But the downside there is I have to remember to keep that backup battery charged or replace it on a regular cycle... It does me no good to have an emergency backup system if its not maintained.