W08 main wing spar rivet ID

Discussion for Sonex builders on specific plans page experience. These posts are limited to technical suggestions such as assembly order, challenges, or techniques related to specific plans pages.

W08 main wing spar rivet ID

Postby Frankart » Sun Aug 09, 2020 3:12 pm

I'm an old plans builder. I had to cut and file from my spar caps myself. I'm finally working on the main spars.

The rivet call-outs are a bit vague on this page. There are two rivets that the plans do not indicate to be countersunk (with the F subscript next to the holes) but I find it odd that they are not given their location and proximity to other countersunk holes.
I've attached pics of what I have. I'm hoping someone can help me. I've circled the questionable locations in red.
Thanks
Jeff
Attachments
InkedIMG_0956_LI.jpg
InkedIMG_0955_LI.jpg
Frankart

Re: W08 main wing spar rivet ID

Postby Frankart » Sun Aug 09, 2020 3:21 pm

I just noticed something else. The solid rivets going through the spar cap and through the main web at each rib station does not get updrilled to final size yet per plan sheet W08. I understand not riveting these, but shouldn't the hole be updrilled to final size so it can be deburred while I have everything apart?
Last edited by Frankart on Mon Aug 10, 2020 7:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
Frankart

Postby Rofomoto » Sun Aug 09, 2020 4:07 pm

Not at my plans right now but might be the 1/4” spar alignment hole
Longassproject
E-A-G-L-E-S Eagles (next year 16- 0)
Rofomoto

Postby Rynoth » Sun Aug 09, 2020 10:03 pm

Rofomoto wrote:Not at my plans right now but might be the 1/4” spar alignment hole

Same, and I think this is correct. Those holes don't get rivets at all, they are only there for the wing rigging process.
Ryan Roth
N197RR - Waiex #197 (Turbo Aerovee Taildragger)
Knoxville, TN (Hangar at KRKW)
My project blog: http://www.rynoth.com/wordpress/waiex/
Time-lapse video of my build: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8QTd2HoyAM
Rynoth