Prop advice needed.

Anything related to props

Prop advice needed.

Postby zzdeck » Sun Sep 26, 2021 8:46 pm

Have an Aerovee turbo on a legacy Sonex. Who should I buy the prop from, and should it be a climb or a cruise prop.
Thanks in advance for the help.
zzdeck

Re: Prop advice needed.

Postby GraemeSmith » Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:53 am

Prince Carbon P tip is an option.

Use the ordering wizard on this page for a recommended prop.

http://www.princeaircraft.com/PriceOrder.aspx

Be aware typical production time is 6 months.....

--

Sensenich is another option but I have no experience with their prop for the AeroVee
Graeme JW Smith
GraemeSmith

Postby gammaxy » Tue Sep 28, 2021 12:26 am

Here's Sonex's recommendations from Sensenich:

https://www.sonexaircraft.com/propeller-options/

Prince propellers are great, but you'll have to find someone flying with one to vouch for its performance and dimensions.
Chris Madsen
Aerovee Sonex N256CM
Flying since September 2014
Build log: http://chrismadsen.org
gammaxy

Postby Scott Todd » Tue Sep 28, 2021 9:46 am

If you haven't been to Sonex, there are propellers mounted on the walls EVERYWHERE. John said they were all tested on AeroVee's. He recommends the Sensenich. The lengths are obviously the same but the pitch can be different between manufacturers.
Last edited by Scott Todd on Tue Sep 28, 2021 9:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Scott Todd

Postby zzdeck » Tue Sep 28, 2021 11:12 am

Thanks for the manufacturer advice! Now what are y’all running, cruise or climb props
zzdeck

Postby GraemeSmith » Tue Sep 28, 2021 2:07 pm

zzdeck wrote:Thanks for the manufacturer advice! Now what are y’all running, cruise or climb props

Prince Wood Carbon P-Tip 54” diameter x 44” pitch gets me AeroVee recommended 3,100 RPM static at a standard day. It's not a "climb" or a "cruise" - it's what it is. :-)
Graeme JW Smith
GraemeSmith

Postby gammaxy » Tue Sep 28, 2021 2:30 pm