Fixing Anti Flutter Weight

Discussion for builders, pilots, owners, and those interested in building or owning a Sonex.

Fixing Anti Flutter Weight

Postby Skippydiesel » Sat Mar 12, 2022 6:51 am

Hi,

My aileron anti flutter weights, have been drilled in the wrong place. I must redrill, but to do this I must fill the first holes.

Melting lead, to pour into the first holes, is not in itself a problem (as a child I made lead fishing weights). However I am concerned that in so doing I may cause a greater problem.

My concern is, will the hot liquid lead cause partial melting of the weights? - making the problem worse?

I have been considering placing the lead weight in the freezer for a few hours befor attempting to pour the molten lead into the drill holes - is this a good/bad idea/necessary at all?

Has anyone else faced this problem?
Skippydiesel

Re: Fixing Anti Flutter Weight

Postby GraemeSmith » Sat Mar 12, 2022 8:20 am

I have some (very) limited experience in repairing yacht keels. Partly casting new lead into old almost never works. The interface between molten and cold never flows to provide a "bond"- or the heat of the molten causes unexpected escapes as the molten lead follows any imperfections in the block of lead. I suspect your freezer idea would ensure the new lead did not "bond" and would leave it prone to falling back out at some point. Because of all these difficulties - we used to recast the whole keel.