MGL keypad stuck or failed?

Discussion of Avionics and Flight Instruments. Such as: EFIS, EIS, GPS, COM, NAV, Antennas, Audio Panels, Steam Gauges

MGL keypad stuck or failed?

Postby achesos » Tue May 09, 2017 1:41 pm

I have a low time MGL Stratomaster Ultra. (Long story)
Tried to adjust contrast after a normal power up a few days ago during my annual inspection. No response from keypad on either + or - buttons. Tried the other 2 buttons on the left side of unit to adjust altimeter; still no response. Right side buttons respond normally. Further poking revealed one button that just doesn't feel as though it debounces like the other 3 on the left side. My logic tells me that if this one is stuck (closed, I assume), that this may disable the unit's ability to respond to any switch on the left side, or the ribbon cable on this side has failed.
Contacted MGL tech support directly. They confirmed that they can replace the keypad for me or send me a new one for the same price minus shipping. I've replaced a few keypads in a former career, so no big deal I think.
Tough to get them to commit that this was likely the problem for any specific reason, after describing my symptoms. Unwilling to confirm or deny field issues with keypad membranes. I get it. Now there are touch screens...
My other alternative was to trade this one in on a Lite with $150 credit. Ouch. That touch screen bites back.

So, my questions for the forum are these:
Does anyone that has already upgraded have a used Ultra for sale?
Has anyone else suffered a keypad failure?

The real sour taste I have is that this failed prior to my first flight - probably powered up less than 5 hours total with programming, calibrations, engine run-ups, and taxi testing. I'm really choking on if I should upgrade to a color screen MGL Lite that is compatible with existing RDAC unit. Did I mention I haven't even flown it yet? And now I can't (still need a BFR and transition training too). Nuts.
Options are good I guess...