Flight Training in a Sonex

Discussion topics to include safety related issues and flight training.

Flight Training in a Sonex

Postby hoodun » Fri Sep 02, 2022 12:13 am

I am a newbie pilot with only 10hrs in the air. I am thinking of purchasing a Sonex A to continue my flight training in.

So, I would need a CFI who is willing to teach me in a Sonex. Does this person exist? Any test pilot/CFIs out there? I am in California.

Also, the Sonex under consideration is a turbo with aerobatic wings. Maybe it's not the best flight training airplane, and not among the normal category of Cessna and Piper, but is this sort of thing done? Are pilots out there who started out in an experimental plane? OR, is this just a really bad idea?
hoodun

Re: Flight Training in a Sonex

Postby GraemeSmith » Fri Sep 02, 2022 7:45 am

Your biggest problem will be finding a CFI who wants to give Primary Training in it. Never mind transition training!

If your cockpit layout has all - or most - of the primary controls on the left side - not may CFI's will want to teach in it as they can't easily control the plane or demonstrate things without reaching across you. And if they want to take the plane in a hurry to recover from something - you might be in the way!! :-)
Graeme JW Smith
GraemeSmith

Postby GordonTurner » Fri Sep 02, 2022 9:18 am

Graeme is correct of course, but that’s only the possible downsides. Many Sonex are configured with the critical controls, throttle mixture brakes flaps and trim, in the center and accessible to both pilots. It would be a fair amount of work but not too horrible to move controls to the center, or at least to devise a duplicate throttle which could be in the center or on the right side.

The more difficult part would be finding an instructor who would teach in it. I personally would assuming the issues above were addressed.