Cowl mod

Use this area for aviation related general discussions, newsworthy items, and non model specific topics.

Cowl mod

Postby dfcpac » Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:32 am

Do they make a cowl mod kit for the Onex? I think the opening on the bottom of the cowl is to small and not enough air coming out I have a Revmaster 2300 and the egt are running very high

Thanks
Danny
127nx
dfcpac

Re: Cowl mod

Postby gammaxy » Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:03 pm

Danny, did you ever get another propeller to try?

On the Sonex, some builders cut a larger exit. I've never seen a need to and I regularly fly when it's hot in Alabama. This experience causes me to question whether a larger opening will solve whatever issue you're experiencing. I don't think egt would be affected much by cooling. Are your chts fine? Mixture and timing have a very large and immediate affect on egts. Personally, I wouldn't read much into the exact egt number unless the engine was also not running smooth or generating good power.
Chris Madsen
Aerovee Sonex N256CM
Flying since September 2014
Build log: http://chrismadsen.org
gammaxy

Postby dfcpac » Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:13 pm

The cht is pretty much normal around 350 degrees and the engine has good
Power high end it runs a little rough

Danny
N127nx
dfcpac

Postby MichaelFarley56 » Sun Nov 26, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi Danny,

EGT has a pretty direct relation to your mixture setting, not the cooling airflow into the cowling. If you were running low EGTs yet have high CHTs that could indicate a lack of airflow into or out of the cowling (along with an advanced secondary ignition, bad baffling seals, etc).