Nose Job

Use this area for aviation related general discussions, newsworthy items, and non model specific topics.

Nose Job

Postby daesharacor » Fri Oct 23, 2015 11:13 am

Hey all. New member here, though I've been doing research for a few years now on various homebuild options.

I absolutely love certain aspects of the Sonex, and would like to build one. I've done a lot of research on RVs, the Panther, Just Aircraft, Kitfox, Rans, etc. I like some aspects of each of them, but haven't found The One yet.

So the one issue I have with the Sonex (other than the useful load, which I can live with) is the front end. I don't mind it terribly, but my building partner (father) is absolutely not on board because he does not like the look of the front end.

Are there any remedies to this? Does someone make a more bubbled canopy and/or a more conventional cowling?

The cowling that Jean Claude is using is a good start, but that shallow angled canopy is still a deal breaker for dad.
http://sonexbuildersandpilotsfoundation ... #h1620a7ef

Am I out of luck?

Thanks!
daesharacor

Re: Nose Job

Postby MichaelFarley56 » Fri Oct 23, 2015 1:15 pm

One of the joys of Experimental aviation is that you have the luxury of building anything you'd like. If you want to take a Sonex and modify the cowling and/or front windshield then go for it!

I will caution you though; the shape of the Sonex fuselage is designed to act as a lifting body, thereby providing some of the lift during flight. I believe this is one reason why the airplane stalls so slowly even though it only has 99 sq/ft of wing area. Any changes you make to the design may or may not have negative consequences to aircraft handling, performance, stall speeds, etc.