New Member, considering scratch build.

New Member, considering scratch build.

Postby MetalBasher388 » Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:54 pm

New guy here. I've been around this grass roots aviation stuff for over 20 years. I got very lucky as a young teen and met a newly retired couple that took me under their wing, got me flying in champs and was working on my ultralight permit (14 years old working to pay my way). Then one day I got a ride in an RV4... And that was the end of my ultralight flying. Haven't flown since, low and slow turned out to not be my thing. I've always wanted to build my own plane and take it to that grass strip where I started.

I have always been a gearhead, sleds, bikes, short track cars, Ive built and raced em. I have an LS1 restored 87 T/A Ive built and learned wiring on. And after my first 8 years as a medic in the Canadian Army, I'm now an aircraft structures tech in the RCAF. In my trade we sort of do everything. Painting, composites, textiles, metal fabrication, welding (tig, oxy, mig), machining etc... So I sort of build a bit every day at work.

So, why the Sonex? Honestly, while I might be able to afford to build an RV, the idea of burning that much 100ll isnt good for the wallet. I would love to build a Sonerai, but I have no interest flying from the rear and it is not much of a 2 person airplane for an out of town weekend.
So, Sonex it is.
If I were to buy a kit, Im looking at over $30g CAD... just the kit. Buying someone elses build holds very little interest to me for a multitude of reasons. Build quality, and wanting my own custom touches are the 2 biggest reasons.
So, considering the fact I have a pretty good baseline skill set, access to a shop full of equipment and the prohibitive cost of a kit, I believe a scratch build is the way to go for me.