Howdy from Western PA

Howdy from Western PA

Postby Spark6 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:37 pm

Hey there!

I'm a prospective addition to the Sonex tribe, checking in from just outside Pittsburgh. I'm an Airbus driver by day, and am in desperate need of a way to get my airplane fix in something that doesn't run my control inputs through a computer! Mostly, I'd like to be able to flip the horizon around on pretty days, but of course, I've got to check some other boxes too, and the Sonex seems like it might be the happy middle ground. The big question is whether or not, at a long-torsoed 6' 1", I fit... Is there anyone in the Western PA/Eastern OH area who would be willing to let me have a peek at their airplane or project? I'm also in the CT/NYC area a fair bit as I'm based out there for work. I'd love to chat airplanes!
- Barrett
Prospective Sonex Driver
Spark6

Re: Howdy from Western PA

Postby GraemeSmith » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:04 am

My Sonex has the lowered seat which the builder fitted because he was long torso at around 6'2". He seemed to fit OK. I'm based at KUUU - in RI - but drift west into CT/NY a lot of the time. Work for myself so mid-week/funny hours can work to meet up for lunch or whatever. Give me a holler by PM and let's see if we can set something up. THIS Thu is my hoped for "fly day" in the week as the weather looks good. If you are out of Bradley - maybe a rendezvous at the Signature FBO / NEAA.
Graeme JW Smith
GraemeSmith

Postby Matt541 » Wed Jan 29, 2020 9:09 am

Well, howdy from Eastern PA!

My center stick Sonex is currently in the garage with the wings off, but you're welcome to stop by on your way to NYC. PM me.

Definitely check out Graeme's when you get up there for a very nice flying example. (From the pics I've seen.)