New Onex Builder in NC

New Onex Builder in NC

Postby shanmoon » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:08 pm

Today I purchased a partially Built Onex, serial #132. Although I have a Classic Searey I have done a lot of work on, this is my first attempt at building (or more accurately, finishing) a kitplane. I picked the Onex because I have a very small hangar (originally built for a Helicycle), and I was looking for something with 1) folding wings, 2) capable of light acro, 3) a kit from a well known manufacturer. The Onex will just manage to fit behind my Searey on one side with the wings all folded up.

I am very excited to join the Sonex builder community! I've dreamed of building a kitplane since I was a teenager learning to fly. I am very lucky to live in an airpark community with experienced builders and active EAA members (Chapter 309), as I am sure I will need a lot of guidance as I embark on this build! I am hoping to fly it from my homebase in North Carolina (NC26) to Oshkosh in a few years!

Shannon Marie Moon
Sonex Onex #132, Airframe about 70% complete
Engine TBD (thinking Hummel, Revmaster, or Corvair )
http://onexshan.com
shanmoon

Re: New Onex Builder in NC

Postby Sonex1517 » Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:22 pm

Welcome to the forum Shannon! Sounds like you are off to a great start.
Robbie Culver
Sonex 1517
Aero Estates (T25)
First flight 10/10/2015
325+ hours
Jabiru 3300 Gen 4
Prince P Tip
Taildragger
N1517S
Sonex1517

Postby Bryan Cotton » Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:46 am

Welcome Shannon! One of my former EAA 533 chapter mates had a classic Searey and he had a blast in it. I also have yet to finish one but this time I am getting close.
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX
Taildragger, Aerovee, acro ailerons
dual sticks with sport trainer controls
Prebuilt spars and machined angle kit
Year 2 flying and approaching 200 hours December 23
Bryan Cotton

Postby shanmoon » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:03 pm