The check is in the mail....

The check is in the mail....

Postby T41pilot » Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:42 pm

Just to introduce myself, I'm Gregg from Michigan. I currently fly a Kolb Firefly which I built myself (from kit). For those not familiar, it is a very sturdy 3 axis fabric covered ultralight flying on 40HP in a pusher configuration. I have been flying it for 4 years now and am very pleased with it. I regularly fly to pancake breakfasts weather permitting or just fly around some of the scenic areas we have available in Michigan. However, I've been wanting something to get me down the road further, carry a passenger if I want, and not have to have perfect no or low wind conditions to be able to fly. I have had my eye on a Sonex for a couple of years now and finally have the means to take the leap. Why did I choose a Sonex? COST was a big factor in the decision. There are still a few average joes out there that like to fly and 100K for an Airplane is out of reach if you still want to eat and make a house payment. Second, my Firefly used pulled rivets in it's construction and I already have some experience with them as well as trusting their use in the design. Third, there seems to be a lot of information available for Sonex building, this forum being an example as well as factory support and builder websites. Fourth, the Aerovee engine. A big cost savings there as well plus the fact you get to build that yourself as well and add to your knowledge. Now the down side. I have no sheet metal experience nor engine experience. I've done some tuning on my Rotax for the Firefly and it's doing fine but some of the anomalies of the Aerovee have me a bit nervous, the fuel burp being one and tuning of the Aero injector being another. Dimpling and countersinking will be new as well. I've ordered the Sonex Dimple Die tool which is 120 degrees but am reading some conflicting information on whether you have to have a 120 degree countersink or a 100 degree is still OK to use. This k