New Guy with Questions

New Guy with Questions

Postby TenSeven » Tue Sep 06, 2016 3:09 pm

Hi everyone.

I've been admiring Sonex for quite awhile, often visiting the they're booth at several AirVentures and interested in building a Onex. I'm a retired Firefighter and looking to get my Sport Pilot License soon (actually, I'm hoping to attend EAA's new Sport Pilot Academy). I have some basic questions that may be way off the mark but go right along with my inexperience so no tomato throwing please ;). Thanks

1) Is there such a thing as a Factory Build Program, in other words, could I assemble a Onex Quick Build Kit at the Factory?

Reason: If I attend EAA's Sport Pilot Academy it would be great to both get my License and build my aircraft at Wittman Airport.

2) Can you fly a Onex open cockpit?

Reason: I love open cockpit aircraft.

3) BRS (again, no tomatoes throwing please :) ). Can the Onex be fitted with a ballistic parachute.

Reason: Added safety.

4) Besides the 80hp AeroVee engine (which is probably plenty for a new pilot), is the only other Onex engine option the turbo-charged AeroVee?

Thanks everyone, glad to be here.

Mike
TenSeven

Re: New Guy with Questions

Postby Concorde » Tue Sep 06, 2016 3:19 pm

Hi Mike,
First welcome.
The answer to your first 2 questions,would be no and I let someone else answer your next 2 questions.
Good luck and enjoy your flight training.
Ben
Sonex # 1684
Tri-Gear, Dual Control
Rotax 912uls
N379BS reserved.
Concorde

Postby gcm52 » Tue Sep 06, 2016 3:54 pm

With respect to the BRS, if you are flying a single place aircraft like the Onex, it might make more sense to just wear a parachute. That is a much simpler solution. For a multi person aircraft, it is much more difficult to get your passengers out with parachutes, so the extra engineering for a whole aircraft chute makes more sense. But if you are the only one in the plane, just buy a used chute and wear it.