New guy from California

New guy from California

Postby 1flyingyogi » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:17 pm

Hi everyone. I'm a brand new pilot - just passed my check-ride on Sunday!! I started flying lessons about 8 years ago, but because of lack of time/ money, had to quit after 6 hours in a Cessna. I started up in July of this year again flying the Sling LSA and it's been a blast.

I've been flying R/C (mostly giant scale aerobatics - both 3D and IMAC) for almost 10 years and have loved anything that flies since I was a kid. I'm super excited now to finally be a "real" pilot!

If there's anyone here who's in Southern California, it'd be great to meet up and talk Sonex and aviation in general. I have LOTS to learn, but am very enthusiastic and excited about doing it.

Brian
1flyingyogi

Re: New guy from California

Postby Rynoth » Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:44 pm

Welcome Brian! Congrats on passing your checkride! Where in Southern Cal are you located?
Ryan Roth
N197RR - Waiex #197 (Turbo Aerovee Taildragger)
Knoxville, TN (Hangar at KRKW)
My project blog: http://www.rynoth.com/wordpress/waiex/
Time-lapse video of my build: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8QTd2HoyAM
Rynoth

Postby 1flyingyogi » Tue Dec 15, 2015 6:10 pm

Rynoth wrote:Welcome Brian! Congrats on passing your checkride! Where in Southern Cal are you located?

I'm in the LA area. Specifically, I live about 5 minutes from KLGB (Long Beach) and trained out of KTOA (Torrance).
1flyingyogi

Postby 1flyingyogi » Tue Dec 15, 2015 6:15 pm

Rynoth wrote:Welcome Brian! Congrats on passing your checkride! Where in Southern Cal are you located?

Thanks Ryoth. I see from your signature that you fly with the Turbo Aerovee. How do you like it? I hear it performs better than the Jabiru 3300 "at altitude". But exactly what altitude does the turbo begin to be better than the Jabiru. What are the major pluses and minuses of each engine choice? Sorry for all the questions right up front. LOL.
1flyingyogi