Hello from Dallas, TX

Hello from Dallas, TX

Postby TheGMan » Sat Mar 21, 2015 5:21 pm

Hi everyone. I'm a Sonex newbie but I've been a fan of John Monnett designs since I fell in love with the Moni many years ago (I still have the info packet in my library) So, I ordered a Waiex tail kit last fall to beat the price increase (there is another one coming up :( ). I figured I could put that together to see if I could could actually build something out of metal (I've been building things out of wood most of my life) and if I would enjoy it.
Since then, I've been (slowly) acquiring tools and setting up my workspace before beginning to build and occupying my time reading every post on the forum. I did the EAA metal workshop recently and had a blast. So, if y'all don't mind, I have a couple of more questions to answer before I feel comfortable jumping whole hog into this project.
#1. I have not yet seen a Sonex / Waiex in real life. So if any builder/owners in the Dallas area could indulge me and let me come look at yours I would be much obliged.
#2. It has been agonizing trying to pick out an air compressor for my workshop. There are just too many choices in size and capacity :o and I am limited by my old house with its old electrical system. Sonex says "Compressor / Small" but I would like some feedback on what y'all have and what is adequate in real life for building a Waiex without wishing you had a bigger one.
Thank you for your input and hope to see y'all around.
Gary R
Dallas Area
TheGMan

Re: Hello from Dallas, TX

Postby Bryan Cotton » Sat Mar 21, 2015 5:59 pm

Gary,
I have a 2HP, 220 volt sears compressor (an old one) with a 20 gallon tank. It is a great size for building airplanes and any household task.

Good luck and good choice with the Waiex!
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX
Taildragger, Aerovee, acro ailerons
dual sticks with sport trainer controls
Prebuilt spars and machined angle kit
Year 2 flying and approaching 200 hours December 23