Hi From Connecticut

Hi From Connecticut

Postby reodds » Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:01 pm

Hi Everyone, Just joined the forum after bit of "lurking". I've been flying since 1977 (Comm, Inst SEL), yes, I am that old!

I have built a Happy Miles Special (Adventure Air Amphib, long story, maybe some other time,) and am now looking closely at the Sonex/Waiex.

My major concern is that over the years my waist line is not too "svelte" anymore, and fitting into the cockpit with my life long copilot may be difficult, especially on any cross country flights. I have seen the mods that one particular person named Jan has for the Sonex, but am certain that they are not exactly approved by the factory!

Does anyone know if the Monnetts are even considering making the Sonex wider for us "full figured" pilots?

Thanks!

Roger
Roger Oppenheimer
Amelia Island, FL KFHB
Looking to buy a Sonex
reodds

Re: Hi From Connecticut

Postby Bryan Cotton » Sat Feb 14, 2015 7:48 pm

Hi Roger!
I was born and raised in Monroe, CT. After college my parents couldn't get rid of me so they sold me the house. I lived there for 39 years! I learned at MMK, flew/towed gliders at 11N, and rented at OXC too. Welcome to the forum!

I don't think the Monetts are planning a bigger sonex. Their niche is squarely under the RV clan. But, you never know!
Bryan Cotton
Poplar Grove, IL C77
Waiex 191 N191YX
Taildragger, Aerovee, acro ailerons
dual sticks with sport trainer controls
Prebuilt spars and machined angle kit
Year 2 flying and approaching 200 hours December 23
Bryan Cotton

Postby reodds » Sat Feb 14, 2015 8:10 pm

Hi Bryan,

Actually, I was born in NYC and lived for the past 30 years or so on long Island. My initial flight training was while I was in the Air Force at SAT. I owned a Mooney M20C that I flew out of FRG on Long Island, and moved up to Connecticut right after hurricane Sandy (we had to!). We live about a mile from 11N in Sherman CT.