Newbie Alert: Sonex / Waiex and so many questions

Discussion for builders, pilots, owners, and those interested in building or owning a Waiex.

Postby jjbardell » Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:31 pm

Good afternoon,
I wanted to introduce myself to the forum. I am a pilot of 10 years and have decided to take the leap into aircraft ownership. The cost of my club Archer III is now pushing the price of "absurd" and my desire to continue flying has led me to here.

I have a hundred questions, but will start with just a few that some of you may be able to help answer. I have talked to Sonex and plan to fly up there to tour their hanger in the next few months. I am in the early stages of purchase, so I have a little time to get it right.

I have chosen the Sonex/Waiex for all the obvious reasons. 1) price 2) performance 3) light aerobatics 4) efficiency 5) looks.
My type of flying is day/night VFR with 4-5 annual trips of 300-800 miles from home.

I am not sure what model to pick. I am looking at a tail dragger, not tricycle. My wife and I love the looks of the Waiex...I am still adjusting to the idea of a v-tail that performs the "same" as a traditional tail. I would love to build one, but don't have the time or patience (if it was a 100 hour build, I could manage that).

So...with that said...here we go:
1) For anyone who has flown both models...is there truly any flight characteristics I should be aware of?
2) Any professional builders out there that specialize in building these so I can have new without 800 hours gone and a plane I trust (obviously don't trust my build skills. lol)?
3) Sonex doesn't give a recommendation on the motor, but I am struggling to see the difference between the Jab 80hp and Aerovee
4) Does anyone know of the burn rate on the Aerovee turbo?
5) If I buy used, are there experts out there for hire to do a pre-buy with me?
6) Anyone in the west Chicago burbs have one and want to show off your plane/wisdom in exchange for some PilotPete's dinner?